Letters to Santa….


Dear Santa,

     I worked very hard this year. I’m not trying to convince you that I’ve been really good.  I only want to point out that I am an American citizen who contributes to society.  For instance, part of my job has been to make sure others have health insurance, otherwise I would not get paid.  Yet, my little family of three does not have health insurance right now.  We simply cannot afford it at this time.

        So Santa, can I have some health reform?  Reform that goes a little something like this….

        Affordable health insurance.  Affordable does not mean $500 to $700 a month, which is what health insurance companies are quoting me for my family.  The three of us go to the doctor two, maybe three, times a year, as we currently do not have major health conditions.  Why should I spend $6,000 to $8,400 a year on insurance when we only about $1,000 in doctor visits?  Seriously, does that make sense? 

        Well, some might say, what about emergencies?  Yes, what about the time my son busted his lip open and needed two stitches.  We were amazingly in and out of the emergency room within two hours.  Yet, the bill came to $1,400.  Really?  Does thread, a needle, cleaning and dressing supplies, and that paper covering the bed cost $1,400?  Perhaps one reason why the bill was so high was that we spoke to four or five people before even seeing the doctor.  Check-in, triage nurse, someone to take the insurance we did have at that time, and another nurse before seeing the doctor.  The story of how my kid slid off the couch and banged his lip on the coffee table was repeated about three times.  And then of course the doctor contracted to do the services has his own charges.  But $1,400 for two hours?  I don’t think so.    

        So maybe, Santa, the cost of health care should be capped at some point.  Should some doctors have multi million dollar homes when the teachers who taught them how to read just lost their retirement?  Or better yet, Mr. Claus, can America realize that health care is a basic human right and not something to be capitalized upon?  Can insurance companies, health care providers, and the government realize that things like immunizations, stitches, casts for broken bones, and medicines for common ailments should be covered and available universally to the American public?  Save the boob and nose jobs, spider vein removal, and liposuctions to be paid for and capitalized upon. 

        So, Santa, the next time I slip on some ice or catch bronchitis, can I get the proper care without going bankrupt?

 Sincerely,

 Alison

Leave a Reply

