Why I’m Not on Facebook…


Yeah, you read it right.  I don’t use the most popular social networking site ever-Facebook.  I still get surprised looks from people when they find out.   I’m quite behind the times and left out of The Loop by not using the site, as people say things like “You didn’t know? It’s on my Facebook page.”  Well, excuse me.  There are many reasons why yours truly is not on Facebook.

*As a social scientist, I know what lurks out there.  There are many strange and potentially harmful people in cyberland I prefer not reading about my vacation or favorite shampoo.  Certain people do not need to be in my business.  And I’m not talking about those considered “mentally ill.”

*Do I really need to be on Facebook to truthfully be “friends” with someone nowadays?

*There are many other ways to communicate with me and not include the entire world.  Email, text messages, IM’s, or old fashioned phone calls and even older fashioned hand written letters.  Calls, texts, and emails are particularly good for when you prefer a one-to-one conversation, and should be the ideal way of contacting me if you are drunk. 

*Websites like WordPress and Tumblr have much prettier and interesting backgrounds to personalize your thoughts.  Facebook looks just plain boring and doesn’t offer much to individualize yourself.

*I have much going on in my life and don’t have the energy to worry about poking people, updating my status, befriending people I barely know, or simply checking the site a dozen times a day to keep up with everyone else.  There are other things to do each day, like writing. 

*And lastly, does anyone truthfully care what I had for breakfast this morning?

5 thoughts on “Why I’m Not on Facebook…

  1. ooooo these are fighting words! 😀
    naw, just kidding…i have like one friend thats not on facebook. hehe!

    seriously though you’re right, and you’re doing it right. facebook isn’t the end all be all; as long as you are blogging or on some other site you aren’t being a total digital recluse (like my wife).

    i pretty much am forced to use facebook because so many of my design clients need it for marketing; none of them have a clue on how to use it…and of course then there’s the crippling Bejeweled Blitz addiction. 😀

    keep “sticking it to the man”!

  2. I’ts bad enough I have a blog. I love what the
    internet can show me, and enjoy sharing my
    artwork, but I spend enough time in frount of
    a screen already – as I’m also into video games
    and Netflix. I am trying desperately to become
    a professional writer, illistrator, or otherwise
    make a living doing something I don’t hate so
    I have to learn how to put myself out there I
    need to get over my fear of E-mail too . . .

    But I have to draw the line somewhere, or I’de
    never see the light of day ever.

    People only care what Celibrities brush their
    teeth with anyway, and usually this is only be-
    cause that knowlege is often forbidden –

    People who only think they are celibrities
    Want to have fans mimicing their every
    move – but if I had to have stalkers –
    shoulden’t I get the million dollar book
    and movie deals that come with them,
    at least then I could afford body guards.

    (On an interesting note – they say Hannah
    Montanna complained after being attacked
    by devoted fans while hanging out with her
    friends.) She had just broadcasted her
    location on twitter. No offence Molly, but I
    find you hilarious. 😀

Leave a Reply

