When seeing Fast Five this weekend, I got my first look at the upcoming movie, The Smurfs.  And well, I just don’t know about this one. 

I loved the Smurfs cartoon show in the 80’s.  What’s not to love about half-dressed, tiny blue creatures that live in mushrooms?  My personal favorite was Brainy Smurf (Papa Smurf always says…..).  Which brings me to my first concern about the Smurfs movie.

Brainy Smurf doesn’t sound nasally or know-it-all enough.  Perhaps casting Eddie Deezen, who voiced Dexter’s Lab’s Mandark, and the Polar Express Know-It-All kid would have been a better choice. 

Secondly, Katy Perry as Smurfette?  Meh.  I’ve heard some people saying she’s a great choice.  The original Smurfette’s voice was a bit annoying.

Soooo…cute little computer generated critters end up in a young couple’s nice home.  They run amuck around the house before gaining the love and admiration of the couple.  Sounds a bit Alvin and the Chipmunks

But the kilt wearing Gutsy Smurf and the wise Papa Smurf seem pretty spot on.  My prediction is that Hank Azaria’s portrayal of Gargamel will steal the show, along with his charismatic cat, Azrael. 

Overall, I shall be skipping the Smurfs on the big screen this summer.  X-Men First Class and Super 8 are calling my name, along with my money.  Can I get a “Tra la la la la la la, la la la la la laaaa.” 

http://www.smurfhappens.com/

