I normally do not watch Wife Swap, so I worked on my book as the Mister watched this week’s Celebrity version behind me.  Gayle Haggard, wife of pastor Ted Haggard, and Stephanie Sampson, long time girlfriend of Gary Busey, switched homes and families.  The wives spend a few days under the house rules, then the family spends a few days under the rule of the “new wife.”  Then, at the end of the show, the two couples meet and discuss the experience. 

Stephanie noted that Gayle got “Gary to listen more.”  My thought:  Don’t we wives of many years try to get our husbands to do this every day?  Yet this one gentle, yet strong woman was able to get eccentric Gary Busey to sit still a bit, listen to her, and ask genuine questions of interest about her.   And she did it within a few days! 

Sometimes it takes that outside view and voice to make to help us grow into better people.

