Heads up, People in the Waiting Area!


Excuse me, people sitting patiently in the waiting area of the clinic, but you may want to duck or get against the wall.
Why, you ask.
Because the printer/fax/copier is about to go flying through the glass window and crash into the far wall. 

Do you not just *love* it when equipment that is meant to save time actually wastes time? 
So, the big main copier/printer that the clinicians and intensive care coordinators use in the office kept getting paper jams.  I think I cursed it the other day while waiting in line for my notes to print.  I mentioned that the machine would quit on us one day because we over use it.  And it did.  So we all now needed to use the smaller fax/copier/printer in the office coordinators’ space.  And heaven forbid if Missey Twisted wanted to save some trees and try to print two-sided copies in a copier that does not normally do this.  I think I wasted more paper trying to get it to face the correct way when opening the drawer and re-loading the paper.  Then my pretty green paper got jammed in the little copier.  Great.  I was able to open the doors and retrieve it.
But then the doors and latches would not all go back into place right away. 
I step back, sigh, and close my eyes.
And I picture myself howling like a lunatic, lifting the copier off the counter, and hurling it through the window and into the waiting area. 
Therefore, heads up everyone. 
I think I would have felt awesome and quiet powerful and relieved after sending the machine shattering through glass. 
But only for a moment.  I’m sure the consequences of my impulsive actions would have been dire.

2 thoughts on “Heads up, People in the Waiting Area!

  1. I have learned one thing in this life…. printers, copiers, fax machines- they hate pretty paper. I think it’s somehow thinner, and so the rollers suck too many pieces. Whenever I print on pretty paper, I always break it into smaller print jobs (so instead of 20 I print 5 at a time). It helps. And if that doesn’t work, throw it through the window. When someone comes looking to find out who did it, just swear that it flew away and dare anyone to challenge you!

    • Yes, it did grab too many pieces of the colorful green paper. This resulted in me wasting more paper. But alas, machines do not understand that life needs color. We just got an email today that hopefully our big main printer will be fixed and stopped getting so many paper jams.

Leave a Reply

