Wachusett Mountain’s Old Indian Trail


Monday, April 16th  was some holiday called Patriot’s Day up here in Massachusetts, in which many of us were granted the day off.  It coincided with the Boston Marathon.  The Mister, the Boy, and myself did our own marathon up Wachusett Mountain.  Who am I kidding?  I was scared my heart was going to explode.  I figured taking the stairs five flights up every day at work would help me prepare for this, but no.  I did pace myself and breath in through the nose and out through the mouth, and also paced my water drinking.  I was quite proud that I made it, along with my son, who remains in a full arm cast.

We started on the Balanced Rock trail, which leads to the Old Indian Trail that took us to the summit.  I enjoyed that the hike crossed a few dry snowboard/ski trails of Wachusett Ski Resort.  The lift chairs dangled like ghosts, frozen in waiting for the next season.  At the switch from Balanced Rock (seen here on the left) and Old Indian Trail, a couple of families warned up of the impending climb upwards.  From the pictures below, you can see why the Boy compared it to climbing Mount Mordor from Lord of the Rings.

 

 

 

 

 

At the summit, we ate lunch while sitting in one of Wachusett’s comfy lift chairs.  The summit provided much a much-needed cool breeze after the hike.  It sported a view of a mountain in New Hampshire, along with a lake close to the resort.  Very peaceful to be atop a mountain.

View from the chair lift unloading area.

My feet and thighs actually hurt more on the trek down, for my son wanted to take one of the slopes back to the base, instead of the hiking trail.  I think the discomfort resulted in attempted to come down the black diamond (quite difficult) Tenth Mountain Slope  without tripping, falling and rolling down the mountain.   Despite the temperatures reaching 80 degrees at least, there were still some patches of artificial snow along the way down.

Overall, Wachusett proved to be a beautiful and challenging hike, at least for me.  I would love to return with the mountain bike and pedal around the service roads, or do the hike again when more vegetation is in bloom.

 

2 thoughts on “Wachusett Mountain’s Old Indian Trail

  1. I’m afraid I would have tripped and fell and rolled down the rocky hill and had to be carried out on a stretcher by men who noticed I still have a few more pounds to lose, so I’m glad it was you and not me hiking up that one! 🙂

  2. 🙂 My son basically ran down the ski slope. He would stop and wait for me sometimes. And he did this with the added weight of a cast on his arm. I was scared he would tumble and break something else. Ah, to be so young and fearless.

Leave a Reply

