A Beautiful Old Moment


I have visited the doctor for joint pain before, because a therapist mostly sits all day long.  Sits and listens to people.  Sits in supervision meetings.  Sits in front of a computer, typing reports.

But I noticed a rather enlightening trend.  My right knee began groaning with pain when it rains.  Granted, I injured this knee about three summers ago when toppling over the handlebars of my bicycle, so it gives me trouble sometimes.  But joint pain when it’s pouring rain is different.

At work, I stopped by one of the large pipes that runs through our office in the mill building.  I squatted, then stood up and stretched my legs, all the while my face grimacing.  I looked up at my co-worker, Alicia.

“Isn’t it a sign of getting old if your knees hurt when it rains?” I asked.

“No, that just means you have mileage,” she responded.

Mileage.  I have mileage. I considered this and even repeated it out loud.  I like that.  Having mileage sounds like one is experienced with life, not withering from it.  Having mileage sounds like a prized car that well cared for.

So, I have mileage.  Who else has mileage?

4 thoughts on “A Beautiful Old Moment

  1. Oh yeah, we got miles of miles (with some miles on the side)!
    In my case, it likely wouldn’t both me so much if so many of them hadn’t been spent going in circles! Also, does it count as mileage if you’re just spinning your wheels!?

Leave a Reply

